About me
How I began my journey

 

I am a 70 year old  mother of five and grandmother of 10.  I was born in London, England of  a mother who was half Scottish and half Sierra Leonean and father who was from Ghana (then Gold Coast). My father was then a Law student and my mother a dancer. I grew up, went to school and had part of my further education in London.  I then lived in Ghana for twenty years. I now live in London, UK but plan on becoming a Silver Jet-Setter commuting between London and Accra.

I have been a wife, single parent, actress, medical secretary, legal secretary, unemployed and eventually a Development Officer in a voluntary organisation for older people and a Non-Executive Director in the Primary Care Trust of the London Borough of Camden. 

 I was Chair of the Afro-Asian Committee of British Actors Equity and a Councillor on the Equity Council.  I have been Chair of Voluntary Action Camden, a support organisation for Volunary and Community organisations in the Borough.  Chair of IN TOUCH, a befriending scheme for older housebound people to support each other, Chair of THANK U, which raises funds for schools and HIV Centres in Ghana and Grenada, on the Board of AFFORD, African Foundation for Development, which campaigns for job creation, rather than aid, for Africa and supports African Diaspora organisations in the UK.  I am also Chair of G.O.L.D. (Ghana Organisation for Learning and Development) which supplies learning materials and books to educational institutions in Ghana and aims to set up community centres which will provide Life Long learning. 

In my work with older people I noticed that those who planned for tomorrow, laughed a lot, danced, socialised with friends, relatives, churches or hometown groups, lived longer and were healthier.

 

 

http://www.gold4all.org